is soy sauce Gluten-Free

In this article, we look at the question “is Soy Sauce Gluten-Free” and anything else that you should know about this popular ingredient.

Soy sauce is also known as Soya sauce and is a condiment with a Chinese origin. It is a popular condiment that you will find as an ingredient in a range of different sauces and marinades.

You will find soy sauce at almost every supermarket and in many different variations. For example, at our local supermarket, you can get low sodium soy sauce, seasoning sauce, honey and soy, and so much more.

Unfortunately, most varieties of soy sauce are not gluten-free, luckily most brands now have a gluten-free variation of soy sauce that tastes like the real thing.

Below, we go further into what soy sauce is made from and any gluten-free alternatives that you might want to consider buying.

What is Soy Sauce made from?

Traditionally soy sauce is made from a combination of fermented soybeans, roasted grain, brine, and some molds to assist in fermentation. The current recipe of Soy sauce was created about 2,200 years ago and is still in use today.

Since its creation, there have been many advances in the process of how soy sauce is made. Many modern brands use an acid-hydrolyzed soy protein instead of a traditional culture. This newer process takes only three days instead of months.

Soy Sauce with soybeans

The process of making soy sauce is worth reading if that interests you. However, it is a bit long to mention here, but there are plenty of other websites that explain it well.

As mentioned above, soy sauce uses grain; the grain is used to add sweetness and give soy sauce its subtle aroma. This inclusion of grains makes traditional soy sauce not gluten-free, luckily there are alternatives.

Gluten-Free Soy Sauce Alternatives

There are plenty of soy sauce brands that have gluten-free varieties that you’re able to purchase. I will list just a few that are readily available at supermarkets or online at places such as Amazon.

San-J Soy Sauce – This soy sauce is certified gluten-free and comes in a variety of options. This range includes salt reduced soy sauce, perfect if you need to keep your salt intake low.

Kikkoman Soy Sauce – Kikkoman is a favorite brand and sells an excellent soy sauce. It is certified gluten-free and consists of water, rice, salt, and soybeans. You shouldn’t have any problem finding this brand online or in your local supermarket.

Little Soya Sauce – If you only ever need small servings of soy sauce then these are perfect. They come in cute fish-shaped packets and contain enough for one serving each. Great for foods like sushi.

There are more brands of soy sauces that are gluten-free, but these are the top recommended brands, especially if you react badly to even the smallest amount of gluten. If you have your favorite, don’t hesitate to share it by leaving a comment at the bottom of this page.

is soy sauce gluten-free

If you instead rather avoid soy sauce altogether then coconut Aminos is an excellent replacement. Unfortunately, this sauce is usually not readily available at supermarkets but can be found online at places like Amazon.

As with looking for anything that’s gluten-free always be sure to check the labels and if in doubt contact the manufacturer.

I hope that this article has helped answer the question “is soy sauce gluten-free” and cleared up any confusion. If you have something that you would like to say, then please don’t hesitate to leave a comment below.